agave

See also Refined sugar

  • The agave cactus comes from Mexico and is now grown over a wider geographical area.
  • Several different species of the agave cactus plant can be processed to produce a liquid sweetener. The exact method involved varies according to the specific species.
  • The liquid sweetener produced from this processing may be called agave nectar or agave syrup.
  • In every case the processing involves the use of heat over a couple of days to hydrolyse the juice and produce the sugars. Other chemicals may be involved in this process.
  • If you wish to avoid heat processed ingredients in your diet then you would exclude agave nectar or agave syrup from your ingredients.
  • Agave nectar is virtually 100% sugar. It is about 80% fructose and 20% glucose. If you wish to avoid refined sugars in your diet then you would exclude agave nectar or agave syrup from your ingredients. More specifically you may wish to avoid fructose. See Dr Lustig's video clip "Sugar: The Bitter Truth"
  • Agave nectar is used by the vegetarian community as an alternative to honey. Honey is not part of a vegetarian diet.
  • Agave nectar sweetens recipes without dominating the taste. It is also less viscous than honey and will readily mix and sweeten without further heating.
  • Generally anything in a bottle, can, jar or carton has been heat processed, unless you have specific evidence to confirm otherwise. The word "raw" on any bottle, can, jar or carton has no specific meaning, other than as a keyword for marketing purposes.

Links

  • The Sweetener Wars are heating up. Dr. Mercola and Mike Adams “The Health Ranger” have come forward listing agave as the worst “bandito” of all sweeteners — a claim reminding me of the “Most Wanted” posters of Mexican criminals I would see whenever I crossed the border between San Diego and Tijuana as a child.
  • http://www.sacredchocolate.com
agave nectar

agave nectar